Take-off for SA’s e-visa roll-out

The Department of Home Affairs (DHA) has begun the implementation of its electronic visa system (e-Visa) to 15 countries.

addressing the National Tourism Stakeholder Forum today (September 8), DHA Director of Immigration Services, Phindiwe Mbhele, listed the 15 countries and outlined the process followed to begin implementation.

He said e-Visa activation would start this month and likely conclude in November. The 15 countries are (in order of activation):

  • Kenya and Cameroon
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo, Philippines and Rwanda
  • Ethiopia, Iran and Egypt
  • India, Uganda and Mexico
  • Pakistan and Nigeria
  • China and Saudi Arabia

Since November 2019, the Government has been testing the South African e-Visa. At the same time, facilities with smart technology are being set up at major South African airports to facilitate electronic document checks.

The implementation and fast-tracking of e-Visas is also one of the key enablers of the Tourism Sector Recovery Plan, which focuses on three strategic pillars: re-igniting demand, rejuvenation of supply, and strengthening and enabling capability.

To view the presentation on the e-visa roll-out, please see below:


More News

International Market Access Support Programme-Individual Support

In line with efforts to open and facilitate access to new and existing markets and considering the high costs associated with exhibiting and participating at tourism trade platforms outside of South Africa, the Department of Tourism invites eligible tourism enterprises to apply for support under the International Market Access Support

Read More »

StatsSA Food & Beverage key findings report for December 2023

Year-on-year percentage change in food and beverages income at constant 2019 prices by type of income. Measured in real terms (constant 2019 prices), total income generated by the food and beverages industry increased by 5% in December 2023 compared with December 2022. “Other” income recorded the highest annual growth rate

Read More »

We look forward to celebrating with you

The FEDHASA Hospitality Awards are designed to formally recognise and celebrate the exceptional contributions of companies and individuals in South Africa’s dynamic hospitality industry.